‘Drive’ Soundtrack Will Transport You; Track Listing and Release Date Revealed

By  · Published on August 1st, 2011

There are a number of elements to Nicolas Winding Refn‘s upcoming release, Drive, that are surprising. But beyond the shocking violence (if you’ve got a weak tummy, consider investing in a blindfold, or at least polish up your eye-covering reflexes before hitting the theater) and the nifty double-crossings and Ryan Gosling being a mind-blowing badass, there is nothing more surprising than the film’s soundtrack. Upon first listen, it’s incongruous. In fact, the soundtrack may make you feel as if you’ve finally lost total touch with reality and regressed all the way back to the eighties. Don’t worry about it, you’re not having an acid flashback or a stroke, the soundtrack really is that unexpected.

The soundtrack will also make you want to become a tough as nails hitman and drive like you’re being chased by a pack of pissed off mobsters. It’s probably best to listen to it far, far away from the wheel of a car. Who am I kidding? Get this soundtrack, then get in your Pinto or Fiesta or whatever, and drive like hell. If you haven’t gone through puberty yet (and, if so, why are you driving?), this soundtrack paired with American muscle will change that faster than you can put pedal to metal and break whatever flimsy speed limit is posted nearby. I’m not telling you to break the law. This soundtrack is telling you to break the law. Check it out after the break:

If you have never believed that synth-filled electronic music that sounds like something Jem and the Holograms would have made after ingesting a case of Four Loko and sustaining matching head injuries, all while suffering from some serious ennui would be cool, this soundtrack will change that. The Drive soundtrack will be available digitally on September 6th, with a physical release on September 13th. Drive opens in theaters on September 16th.

01. Night Call ‐ Kavinsky
02. Tick of the Clock ‐ Chromatics
03. Rubber Head ‐ Cliff Martinez
04. I Drive ‐ Cliff Martinez
05. He Had a Good Time ‐ Cliff Martinez
06. They Broke His Pelvis ‐ Cliff Martinez
07. Kick Your Teeth ‐ Cliff Martinez
08. Where’s The Deluxe Version? ‐ Cliff Martinez
09. See You in Four ‐ Cliff Martinez
10. After The Chase ‐ Cliff Martinez
11. Hammer ‐ Cliff Martinez
12. Wrong Floor ‐ Cliff Martinez
13. Skull Crushing ‐ Cliff Martinez
14. My Name on a Car ‐ Cliff Martinez
15. On The Beach ‐ Cliff Martinez
16. Oh My Love ‐ Riziero Ortolani & Rina Ranieri
17. Under Your Spell ‐ Desire
18. A Real Hero ‐ College feat. Electric Youth
19. Bride of Deluxe ‐ Cliff Martinez

[The Playlist]