Sundance 2010: Grand Jury and Audience Award Winners

By  · Published on January 31st, 2010

We’ve made it to the final day of screenings here in Park City. This day is reserved for the award winners, allowing those of us who are still around to catch up on the best films that we might have missed. It works out perfectly for me, as once again I have not seen the Grand Jury Prize winner. Last year, I saw Precious (then titled Push: based on a novel by Sapphire) and this year I will be seeing Winter’s Bone. The film took home two awards, including the Dramatic Grand Jury Prize and the Waldo Salt screenwriting award. You can read Robert Levin’s review here.

Also among the winners – which are listed in full below – Animal Kingdom won the World Cinema Jury Prize in the dramatic category. You can read my review here. And How I Met Your Mother star Josh Radnor’s directorial debut HappyThankYouMorePlease took home the audience award. Deservedly so, as I thought it was one of the more likable films of the fest. You can read my review here.

The full list of 2010 Sundance Film Festival award winners is below:

Grand Jury Prize: Documentary – Sebastien Junger and Tim Hetherington, Restrepo

Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic – Debra Granik, Winter’s Bone

World Cinema Jury Prize: Documentary – Mads Brügger, The Red Chapel

World Cinema Jury Prize: Dramatic – David Michôd, Animal Kingdom

Audience Award: U.S. Documentary – Davis Guggenheim, WAITING FOR SUPERMAN

Audience Award: U.s. Dramatic – Josh Radnor, happythankyoumoreplease

World Cinema Audience Award: Documentary – Lucy Walker, Waste Land

World Cinema Audience Award: Dramatic – Javier Fuentes-León, Contracorriente

Best of NEXT – Todd Barnes and Brad Barnes, Homewrecker

U.S. Directing Award: Documentary – Leon Gast, Smash His Camera

U.S. Directing Award: Dramatic – Eric Mendelsohn, 3 Backyards

World Cinema Directing Award: Documentary – Christian Frei, Space Tourists

World Cinema Directing Award: Dramatic – Juan Carlos Valdivia, Southern District

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award – Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini, Winter’s Bone

World Cinema Screenwriting Award – Juan Carlos Valdivia, Southern District

U.S. Documentary Editing Award – Penelope Falk, Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award – Joëlle Alexis, A Film Unfinished

Excellence in Cinematography Award: U.S. Documentary – Kirsten Johnson, Laura Poitras, The Oath

Excellence in Cinematography Award: U.S. Dramatic – Zak Mulligan, Obselidia

World Cinema Cinematography Award: Documentary – Kate McCullough and Michael Lavelle, His & Hers

World Cinema Cinematography Award: Dramatic – Mariano Cohn and Gastón Duprat, The Man Next Door

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize – Diane Bell, Obselidia

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Prize – Josh Fox, Gasland

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Prize – Mark Ruffalo, Sympathy For Delicious

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Prize – Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath, Enemies of the People

World Dramatic Special Jury Prize for Breakout Performance – Tatiana Maslany in Grown Up Movie Star

Awards for film in the Shorts program were presented at a separate ceremony on Tuesday night. The winners:

Jury Prize in U.S. Short Filmmaking – Drunk History

International Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking – The Six Dollar Fifty Man

Honorable Mention in Short Filmmaking – Born Sweet, Can We Talk?, Dock Ellis & the LSD No-No, Quadrangle, Rob and Valentyna in Scotland, Young Love

Neil Miller is the persistently-bearded Publisher of Film School Rejects, Nonfics, and One Perfect Shot. He's also the Executive Producer of the One Perfect Shot TV show (currently streaming on HBO Max) and the co-host of Trial By Content on The Ringer Podcast Network. He can be found on Twitter here: @rejects (He/Him)