HBO, ABC Win Big at 2010 Creative Arts Primetime Emmy Awards

This weekend marked the ceremony for the 2010 Creative Arts Primetime Emmy Awards. This ceremony handles all the minor and technical awards for the The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, with the Major Awards being announced next week at the 62nd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards.

The two big network winners of the night were HBO and ABC, both walking away with 17 and 15 awards respectively. Some of the major individual winners of the night included:

  • John Lithgow in the Outstanding Guest Actor in A Drama Series category for his role as Arthur Miller on Dexter.
  • Betty White in the Outstanding Guest Actress in A Comedy Series category for her SNL appearance. This episode also was awards in both make-up and direction.
  • Neil Patrick Harris walked away with the Outstanding Guest Actor in A Comedy Series for his appearance on Glee last season.
  • Glee also won the Best Sound Editing in A Comedy Series award (surprise, surprise)
  • The Pacific walked away with a total of 7 wins in various categories and is the current front runner to win the award for Best Miniseries next week

Some of the shockers included:

  • 24 winning two awards for both Sound Editing and Original Score in a Dramatic Series (Both awards were predicted to go to LOST). The win for 24 also makes it one of the few series to win an Emmy for every season of its existence.
  • ABC’s defunct FlashForward walked away with an awards in Stunt Coordination
  • Disney’s Prep & Landing beat out front runner South Park (the episodes 200/201 were submitted), for the Best Animated Program award.
  • Prep & Landing also won three other awards in various categories.
  • The Colbert Report walked away with the award for Best Writing in A Variety, Music, or Comedy series for the first time in the shows run. This award has gone to The Daily Show five times since 2003.
  • Heavy hitter LOST only walked away with one award for Editing in A Single Camera Drama Series.

Next week the awards for Best Lead Actor, Best Lead Actress, Best Comedy Series, Best Variety, Best Drama Series and many more will be announced.

The current front runners for major wins include The Daily Show, LOST, Law & Order: SVU, Dexter, Breaking Bad and The Pacific. The ceremony will air on NBC, August 29th at 8pm EST, with a preshow at 7pm. The ceremony will be hosted by Jimmy Fallon.

More to Read: