Roman Polanski Wins Top Directing Prize in Berlin

Earlier this evening I was reading an excellent piece over at Cinematical by Jenni Miller. In a meditation about the state of affairs of director Roman Polanski, she asks a few interesting questions. Can we separate the artist from their personal life? Can we enjoy their art without thinking that their wretched real-world deeds had some influence about the very art that we’re enjoying? It’s an interesting discussion to be had — and the situation surrounding Polanski is the perfect catalyst for such a discussion.

Setting aside that discussion for another time and place, I rather enjoyed The Ghost Writer, a film that very well could have been directed by another sure-handed director and have been just as good. It wasn’t. It was directed by Polanski, and for that he’s being rewarded by many critics. He’s also getting recognition from the Werner Herzog-led jury at the 60th Annual Berlin Film Festival this weekend. His award was accepted by the film’s producer, Alain Sarde.

Also taking home prizes were the Turkish film Honey, which one the fest’s top prize, The Golden Bear. The Sundance hit The Kids Are All Right, starring Julianne Moore, Annette Benning and Mark Ruffalo, took home one of the independent jury prizes for best feature.

The full list of winners from Berlin is below..

Golden Bear: “Honey”
Grand Prix: “If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle”
Best Director: Roman Polanski, “The Ghost Writer”
Best Actor: Grigory Dobrygin and Sergei Puskepalis, “How I Ended This Summer”
Best Actress: Shinobu Terajima, “Caterpillar”
Outstanding Artistic Achievement: “How I Ended This Summer”
Best Screenplay: Wang Quanan, “Apart Together”
Alfred Bauer Prize: “If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle”
Best First Feature: “Sebbe”

Ecumenical Jury Prize (Competition): “Honey”
Ecumenical Jury Prize (Panorama): “Kawasaki’s Rose”
Ecumenical Jury Prize (Forum): “Aisheen (Still Alive in Gaza”
FIPRESCI Prize (Competition): “A Family”
FIPRESCI Prize (Panorama): “Parade”
FIPRESCI Prize (Forum): “Crab Trap”
Teddy Prize (Features): “The Kids Are All Right”
Teddy Prize (Documentary): “The Mouth of the Wolf”
Teddy Jury Award: “Open”
Prize of the Guild of German Art Cinemas: “Shahada”
CICAE Award (Panorama): “Kawasaki’s Rose”
CICAE Award (Forum): “Winter’s Bone”
NETPAC Prize: “Au Revoir, Taipei”
Label Europa Cinemas Award: “When We Leave”
Caligari Prize: “The Mouth of the Wolf”
Peace Film Award: “Son of Babylon”
Amnesty International Prize: “Son of Babylon” and “Waste Land”
Femina Film Prize: Reinhild Blaschke (production designer), “In the Shadows”
Audience Award: “Waste Land”

Neil Miller is the Founder and Publisher of Film School Rejects. For almost a decade, he has been talking movies on television, the radio, and the Internet. As of yet, no one has stopped him.

Read More from Neil Miller
Get Film School Rejects in your email. All the cool kids are doing it:
Previous Article
Next Article
Reject Nation
Leave a comment
Comment Policy: No hate speech allowed. If you must argue, please debate intelligently. Comments containing selected keywords or outbound links will be put into moderation to help prevent spam. Film School Rejects reserves the right to delete comments and ban anyone who doesn't follow the rules. We also reserve the right to modify any curse words in your comments and make you look like an idiot. Thank You!