Producers Guild Chooses ‘Hurt Locker,’ ‘The Cove,’ ‘Up’

No offense to the Omaha Confederated Teachers and Plumbers Guild of Amateur Film Critics, but I have a feeling that their choice of Paul Blart: Mall Cop won’t influence the Academy. Of course, neither will the decision of the Austin Film Critics Association to hand the award to The Hurt Locker.

There are a ton of awards out there, and for those keeping score, Kathryn Bigelow’s drama about the day-to-day pressures of a bomb squad unit in Baghdad has already won 51 of them. Last night marked 52.

This time it’s from the Producers Guild of America which – for obvious reasons – should actually have an impact on the Award Buzz Tracking that film fans so love to do. I’m not knocking the Kalamazoo Film Fanatics, but the PGA decision will have meaningful ramifications for the big game.

In addition to The Hurt Locker, Producers also chose Up as Best Animated Picture in a shocking move that no one could have seen coming back in May, and they chose The Cove as Best Documentary.

Who else won? Why, a complete list of winners might be handy right about now. Winners are in bold.

The Danny Thomas Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television—Comedy

30 Rock*



The Office


The Norman Felton Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television—Drama

Mad Men*



True Blood

The Producers Guild of America Producer of the Year Award in Non-Fiction Television

60 Minutes*

Deadliest Catch


Kathy Griffin: My Life on the “D” List

This American Life

The Producers Guild of America Producer of the Year Award in Live Entertainment and Competition Television

The Colbert Report*

Amazing Race

American Idol

Project Runway

Top Chef

The David L. Wolper Producer of the Year Award in Long-Form Television

Grey Gardens*

Georgia O’Keeffe

Little Dorrit

Prayers for Bobby

The Prisoner

Taking Chance

The Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures

The Hurt Locker*


District 9

An Education

Inglourious Basterds


Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire

Star Trek


Up in the Air

The Producers Guild of America Producer of the Year Award in Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures




Fantastic Mr. Fox

The Princess and the Frog

The Producers Guild of America Producer of the Year Award in Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures

The Cove*

Burma VJ


Soundtrack for a Revolution

A veteran of writing about movies for nearly a decade, Scott Beggs has been the Managing Editor of Film School Rejects since 2009. Despite speculation, he is not actually Walter Mathau's grandson. See? He can't even spell his name right.

Read More from Scott Beggs
Get Film School Rejects in your email. All the cool kids are doing it:
Previous Article
Next Article
Reject Nation
1 Comment
Leave a comment
Comment Policy: No hate speech allowed. If you must argue, please debate intelligently. Comments containing selected keywords or outbound links will be put into moderation to help prevent spam. Film School Rejects reserves the right to delete comments and ban anyone who doesn't follow the rules. We also reserve the right to modify any curse words in your comments and make you look like an idiot. Thank You!