Online Film Critics Love Up The Hurt Locker, Basterds

In the online world, our lives wouldn’t be complete without the embattled entity known as the Online Film Critics Society (OFCS). This dark organization of old-school overlords has long been a contentious topic among the new school of movie bloggers, as many of us can’t seem to get into the club. For onliners, the OFCS holds the key to getting listed on Rotten Tomatoes, which can make for several years of frustrating application denials.

But through all of that, there is no denying that the OFCS is a major body in the world of film criticism. And under its new governing committee, they’ve made excellent strides in 2009 to become an organization that truly reflects the ever-changing online landscape. Perhaps next year they will finally eject Kevin Carr from their ranks, thus proving my theories about his taste in movies.

But I digress. I’m not even sure why all of that insider baseball matters. Today the OFCS announced (via their snazzy blog) the winners of their 2009 awards. The not-so-diverse selection spread love all over Kathryn Bigelow’s electric war flick The Hurt Locker and Quentin Tarantino’s rough and tumble WWII talkie Inglorious Basterds. I say not-so-diverse not to jab at the OFCS, but to illuminate the nature of this year’s wide open, yet crowded awards season. It seems to be coming down to a handful of films — in just about every category. One surprise: the lack of Avatar, a film that shook the online community’s core less than a month ago. Alas, you can find the list of winners below:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
Best Actor: Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker
Best Actress: Melanie Laurent, Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, Precious
Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds
Best Adapted Screenplay: Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, Fantastic Mr. Fox, based on a book by Roald Dahl
Best Documentary: Anvil!: The Story of Anvil
Best Picture Not in the English Language: The White Ribbon
Best Animated Feature: Up
Best Cinematography: Robert Richardson, Inglourious Basterds
Best Score: Michael Giacchino, Up
Best Editing: Chris Innis and Bob Murawski, The Hurt Locker

Neil Miller is the Founder and Publisher of Film School Rejects. For almost a decade, he has been talking movies on television, the radio, and the Internet. As of yet, no one has stopped him.

Read More from Neil Miller
Get Film School Rejects in your email. All the cool kids are doing it:
Previous Article
Next Article
Reject Nation
1 Comment
Leave a comment
Comment Policy: No hate speech allowed. If you must argue, please debate intelligently. Comments containing selected keywords or outbound links will be put into moderation to help prevent spam. Film School Rejects reserves the right to delete comments and ban anyone who doesn't follow the rules. We also reserve the right to modify any curse words in your comments and make you look like an idiot. Thank You!