Did ‘Argo’ Just Secure a Best Picture Win?


The Producers Guild of America just awarded Ben Affleck‘s Argo with two honors. The first is their award for Best Theatrical Motion Picture, and the second is the statistical advantage of winning the Academy Award for the same prize.

Since 1989, the PGA and the Oscars have only disagreed 7 times when it comes to Best Picture, and they’ve picked the same winner for the past 6 years straight.

It’s not a certainty, of course (and Daniel has made strong cases for Life of Pi and Amour), but it’s a 70% historical chance that Affleck’s movie about a fake CIA movie might win big on February 24th.

Now, just for fun, here are the 7 times that the PGA and the Oscars didn’t pick the same flick to win:

The Academy pick is first followed by the PGA’s:

  • 1992 – Unforgiven / The Crying Game
  • 1995 – BraveheartApollo 13
  • 1998 – Shakespeare in Love / Saving Private Ryan
  • 2001 – A Beautiful Mind / Moulin Rouge!
  • 2004 – Million Dollar Baby / The Aviator
  • 2005 – Crash / Brokeback Mountain
  • 2006 – The Departed / Little Miss Sunshine

A veteran of writing about movies for nearly a decade, Scott Beggs has been the Managing Editor of Film School Rejects since 2009. Despite speculation, he is not actually Walter Mathau's grandson. See? He can't even spell his name right.

Read More from Scott Beggs
Get Film School Rejects in your email. All the cool kids are doing it:
Previous Article
Next Article
Reject Nation
Leave a comment
Comment Policy: No hate speech allowed. If you must argue, please debate intelligently. Comments containing selected keywords or outbound links will be put into moderation to help prevent spam. Film School Rejects reserves the right to delete comments and ban anyone who doesn't follow the rules. We also reserve the right to modify any curse words in your comments and make you look like an idiot. Thank You!